everyday's a blessing

you're never a failure until you've lost the lesson Romans 8:28

Desiderata July 22, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — everyday's a blessing @ 9:23 pm

Desiderata-June 23, 2011 12:04 am. Room 303 Airport Road Auh UAE

I am in so much grief today. Sad to say, emotional pain is more unbearable than physical ones.  Worst is, in most of the time, physical torture accompanies emotional anguish.   1000mg of Panadol didnt work for my head ache.i miss Biogesic, Mefenamic and Alaxan. Probably they will be of better effect at this time.

i spoke with my close friends today, as always, the indecisive me; always in a crossroad, sought counsel from my Christian friends. they are my “life-lines” (my-call-for-help buddies). Irony is, i was independent since my highschool days yet till now still unsure, and often waver on most of my decisions.

I’m afraid to take a risk that is why. i’ve always been the melancholic type who wants a “sure-hit” on every judgement. i’m scared to hurt myself and even others of my choices; of my plans. thus i seek counsel in most of the time.

but there’s more into my being indecisive…..

the first song in our praise and worship today is to timely.  few lines go this way….

Show me Your ways
I want to know You
Guide me in truth
My hope is in You
That I may dwell in Your house forever
Lifting up Your name
Dwell in Your house forever more

yes more than those earlier reasons i mentioned, i’m afraid that i will miss HIS PERFECT PLAN for me. i dont want to settle on HIS PERMISSIVE WILL. all i want is HIS PERFECT WILL for my life. and that makes my decision-making more difficult. not until i hear HIM say “GO!”, that’s the only time i’ll do my actions. for now, i rest and wait on Him.

but the human me often loves to be counselled, to have people cheering me up and encouraging me when life seems unfair. glad to know, the Lord has bestowed me great Christian friends who are always ready to give sound, or better yet Biblical, unbiased pieces of advice.

in one of those counselling sessions over the phone yesterday (thanks to Etisalat for making more-than-an-hour-calls possible), i was asked by Gab to ponder on “Desiderata”. i first encountered this poem from my friend Joy Irorita when i was in highschool. but i didnt give much attention on it. not till now.

Gab is right! tho this is not an ode or verse from the Bible, the instructions from this prose poem sounds Biblical.

take a glimpse on it…..

desiderata: latin meaning "desired things".

Desiderata-Max Ehrmann (1872–1945)

Go placidly amid the noise and haste,
and remember what peace there may be in silence.

As far as possible without surrender
be on good terms with all persons.
Speak your truth quietly and clearly;
and listen to others,
even the dull and the ignorant;
they too have their story.
Avoid loud and aggressive persons,
they are vexations to the spirit.

If you compare yourself with others,
you may become vain or bitter;
for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.

Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans.
Keep interested in your own career, however humble;
it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time.
Exercise caution in your business affairs;
for the world is full of trickery.
But let this not blind you to what virtue there is;
many persons strive for high ideals;
and everywhere life is full of heroism.

Be yourself.
Especially, do not feign affection.
Neither be cynical about love;
for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment
it is as perennial as the grass.

true enough, at one point we may have fallen deeply in-love with someone and thought that our lives revolve on them. we thought we could not make it without them. but the truth is, as time passes by, you’ll soon learn to laugh on such acts and move on. after all, nothing is permanent on earth, not even “LOVE” only “CHANGES”.

Take kindly the counsel of the years,
gracefully surrendering the things of youth.
Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune.
But do not distress yourself with dark imaginings.
Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness.

I’d rather busy myself soaking myself on the WORD than think of those misfortunes i have. it’s on how i will respond to those challenges-of-life that is more important. consequently, it’s me who will suffer every reaction i will make. so i’d better choose those that will benefit me.

Beyond a wholesome discipline,
be gentle with yourself.
You are a child of the universe,
no less than the trees and the stars;
you have a right to be here.
And whether or not it is clear to you,
no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.

Therefore be at peace with God,
whatever you conceive Him to be,
and whatever your labors and aspirations,
in the noisy confusion of life keep peace with your soul.

Thus, i pray that i will have more opportune-time to commune with HIM. to know HIS will more in my life. For ” Where the Spirit of the Lord, there is freedom!” 2 Corinthians 3:17. (thanks kuya Ricky for this reminder.)

With all its sham, drudgery, and broken dreams,
it is still a beautiful world.
Be cheerful.
Strive to be happy.

Yes, i’ll strive to be more cheerful and happy..or should i say J-O-Y-ous (is a better term) from now on. Life is too short to be miserable. c”,)

PS: special thanks to my life-lines: my mentor, Nanay Diana Diane Mendoza, my katriplets Jasper “Ipong” Dagang and Jessica “Ica” Antipolo, UAE Katriplets, Gabby “Gab” Mendoza, UAE counsellor Enrique “Ricky” Quitoriano and Nfdf-New-found-dear-friend Joseph “Oteph” Valenzuela. =)

your presence on the chat room and over the phone is so timely. sa uulitin,                         “i’ll call for help” again and praying it will be a better story next time.

 

2 Responses to “Desiderata”

  1. Joseph Says:

    ur always welcome….God bless and always be strong… =)


Leave a Reply

