everyday's a blessing

you're never a failure until you've lost the lesson Romans 8:28

The Proposal October 15, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — everyday's a blessing @ 12:01 am
Tags: , , ,

The Proposal  Oct. 14, 2011 21:35 pm Room 303 Airport Road Abu Dhabi UAE.

Wedding proposal especially lines such as “Will you marry me” or “Will you be my wife” have been greatly anticipated by ladies of marrying age. I for one was not an exemption. I enjoyed watching stories about proposals. In particular, movie show such as The Ultimate Proposal never left my nerves keyed-up.

But since Mac and I had planned for our wedding way ahead, even before I flew for UAE, I never expected him to surprise me of his proposal. And with all honestly, I tried to forget about it. They say, the less you expect, the less you’ll get hurt. So I kept telling myself “there will be no proposal taking place, if it does, then great, but better not to expect”, as if this was my mantra.

September 13, 2011, Tuesday Mac’s 29th Birthday, it was scheduled as our prenuptial pictorial at Greenery Bulacan. We drove to the place late and it was raining hard that we almost lost our way. Good thing Mike (one of our videographers) recognized that we went kilometres ahead Bulacan and are on our way to Pampanga already. So we had to go back. We reached the place at past five in the afternoon. The rain just stopped yet the sky was so gloomy. We thought pictorial won’t be doable. But the Lord is gracious; He calmed the sky and thus made it possible.

Around past seven in the evening, we were almost done with the night pictorials. Yet to the very end, Mac and I wanted to have one picture of us taken in front the Grand Villa. I had to change dress so not to have a monotonous motif. To my surprise, he was not there to assist me. That night, I had to change by myself having only two open doors of the car to cover me. The office of the greenery was already closed that time so there was no way for me to use the dressing room. I needed Mac to cover me on the other side yet that very moment, he was not around. So I had to maneuver in the most ingenious way I could. I managed to put on my outfit despite small lit coming from the street posts and despite the too-narrow “fitting room”. It was a bit scary scenario as I was thinking that someone might suddenly appear and just grab me there. Gladly, no one did.

After I geared up, I had to go back to our previous prenup site since they were all there. I met Mac along the way. I asked him what took him so long, He said, he had to discuss the last set of shots with them. “What? I thought we will only have one in front the villa”, I said. “Yup”, he said “That’s it”. Then he signalled me to go ahead since he will change his get-up and so not to keep them waiting.

When I reached the photographers and videographers, I was surprised that they were still directing some shots on the gazebo. “Kuya meron pa? Di pa kayo pagod”, I pleaded. “Ma’am last nalang po, upo po kayo diyan na parang inanatay niyo po si Sir”, Mike said. “Naku baka mawala na sa kwento yung mga shinoot niyo a, ang dami dami na kaya”, I said yet I obeyed their instructions. So I sat and acted as if I was waiting for Mac. When he arrived, he was holding a bouquet, an over-used bouquet we kept on holding during the pictorial.

Just then He knelt on his knees and said, while trying to pull something out of his pocket, “Alam kong sobrang late na nito pero……” Just when I knew what he was doing I reacted right away and said, “Ay ang korni mo Hon”, but deep down, my heart was beating wildly. I could not help but pinch him on the cheeks because of the “corny-moments”. I was not used to him doing such.

Mac put the diamond ring on my finger and it fitted perfectly. Then we hugged each other.

Yes, he didn’t have the chance to say the lines as I reacted so excitedly. Haha He lost his momentum. Pity me, if only I shut my mouth I should have heard him say the most-awaited-lines. Tsk tsk.

But without a doubt, if asked if I’m willing to be his wife, I will definitely answer, “Surely, I will”.

On our way home, I kept thanking the Lord. Though I made bloopers on my own proposal, I’m very much grateful because He allowed me to even experience it from the very person I dearly love. He answered one of my heart’s desires.

Indeed the Lord knows our deepest longings, no matter how much we deny and hide them. This is only one proof that I don’t need to worry; If He could answer those wants that I secretly keep to myself how much more my obvious needs.

Thank You so much Lord, my Jehovah Jireh!

Matthew 6:25-34 New International Version (NIV) Do Not Worry

    25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life[a]?

28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own

So here’s the story board of The Proposal.

So there’s the story and the rest is history. c’,)

Much thanks to the accomplices: Paul Bonin Vargas (our photographer), Marvin Barbarona and Mike (our videographers):  you all did a great job my brothers!

 

6 Responses to “The Proposal”

  1. Mark Edralin Says:

    salamat mahal for posting this kahit mejo nahihiya ako kasi corny ata ung ginawa ko nung gabing un..hehe…like I said wala akong gifts sa mga ganung style..but the motive is there which was to give you a symbol of my to-be-lifetime commitment with you..I love you!

  2. naks…so sweet of you mahal! thank you for the step of faith.(wink) tho its not ur nature, thank you for the sweet acts.i really appreciate them..and yes! thanks to Gary Chapman’s Five Languages of Love..hihi c”,)

  3. irish1723 Says:

    That was so sweet! Clap Clap talaga… all your blogs are inspiring, at inhale exhale sa last one entitled ” pills… pillss… ” I pray that God will give you a dozen babies, ‘coz you both deserve it. (dozen talaga, hehe, ang dami… kung ilan nalang pala gusto nyo.. alam naman na ni Lord yun.) God Bless! at natuto talaga ako sa word press huh… medyo na tears kasi sa “pills.. pills…”

    • diana Says:

      mmm..wonderful..not corny for me..tama lang yun ginawa ni mark..every honest aldy deserves one..

    • just saw this…sorry for the late reply dear! thank you for visiting the site. feel free to read and be encouraged. they say each of us can learn from others experiences. hope you’re blessed with some posts. sorry for making you “teary-eyed” tho. (hihi) regards!=)


Leave a Reply

