everyday's a blessing

you're never a failure until you've lost the lesson Romans 8:28

Exodus with Back Pain April 28, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — everyday's a blessing @ 12:01 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Chinese Cupping. 28 April 2012. Room 303 Airport Road UAE 9:26 am

April 22, 2012. I had the worst back pain that made me struggle to prepare for work. i had to do a lot of twists and turns on bed just so i can maneuver myself up. the usual instant waking-up that i do became like an exodus for me, a long journey. There was even an incident when i had to postpone the call of  nature because i could not practically get up from a lying position. Working on bedside was even horrible that even a slight bend specially wrong angles made me cringe to pain.  I tried several pain creams and ointments and even tried other unconventional treatment but to no use.

Good thing with the help of my superiors i had myself seen in ER, more blessed that i had been approved for two-day sick leave. Tho i must admit that the Ketorolac shot especially on my left deltoid was such a nuisance.

April 23, 2012. I was supposed to attend a mandatory seminar but the same problem happened. all day long i just had to stay on bed and literally had a complete bed rest. I browsed in the net for possible treatment options i could have and gladly i was led to one site. hurriedly, i booked myself for an appointment for the following day.

April 24, 2012. Since i had no choice but to finally attend the last day of the mandatory course, i had to convince myself that the pain will be gone once i start moving. i had to persuade myself that if i will patiently endure the course,  i will have my back treated.

After the course, i had a sharing-to-the-core with Ate Loida. It was indeed cheering knowing that i had one person who shares the same prayers with me; in terms of her struggle in LDR, and same hopes and wishes in our lives here in UAE.

Right after the quality time with Ate Loida, i had the best pampering gift to myself.

16:00 was my appointment. i was greeted by two fine Chinese ladies as i welcomed myself in such a milieu. the ambiance was so calming and so natural. i love the wall paintings which were mainly about nature and sceneries.

Moroccan Bath and the Milk and Flower Bath were rejuvenating. The experiences were still very vivid especially the soaking i had to a warm tub full of milk and flowers. The sound of water rushing on a stream and bird’s tweeting coupled by hot rose-petal tea were indeed superb.

But that was not the end. After those awesome moments, i was introduced to my very-first Chinese Cupping.

Chinese Cupping refers to an primeval Chinese practice in which a cup is applied to the skin so that the skin and superficial muscle layer is drawn into and held in the cup. This works by creating a local suction on the skin. Suction is formed either by heat or fire or mechanically by hands or pumps. Practitioners believes that this method promotes blood flow thus supports healing.  It is believed to have started with legendary Taoist alchemist and herbalist, Ge Hong (281–341 A.D.). Initially, he had to use animal horns to drain pustules. Because of this, cupping has been known as jiaofa, or the horn technique of therapy.

http://www.google.com.ph/imgres?q=chinese+cupping&hl=fil&gbv=2&tbm=isch&tbnid=5dkOLlaptEwIEM:&imgrefurl=http://www.itmonline.org/arts/cupping.htm&docid=Opg1kg7y8_PzCM&imgurl=http://www.itmonline.org/image/cupping1.jpg&w=538&h=350&ei=E42bT_eCAcO4rAeZs6hF&zoom=1&iact=hc&vpx=116&vpy=48&dur=927&hovh=181&hovw=278&tx=210&ty=115&sig=115273806989279319673&page=3&tbnh=124&tbnw=190&start=47&ndsp=28&ved=1t:429,r:0,s:47,i:169&biw=1366&bih=631

Cupping today is recommended for the treatment of pain and other diseases.

It took me 30 minutes for the whole process and i would say that it was really worth it. I felt recharged and most specially the back pain was relieved. Tho the down side was that i had several circular bruises on my back which are really expected (and was explained to me at the beginning of the treatment). These will disappear, in a couple of days or weeks. other reviews on cupping further said that if it is to be effective, erythema should be present; and the darker they are (i.e according to the Chinese lady who made the procedure for me) the worst a person’s health is. Gladly, she said i have nothing to worry about my health. the marks i had revealed that i only had long-duration back pain/tiredness.

If i were to rate the whole experience i would give it an A and will definitely recommended it to my peers, in particular nurses who frequently go through the same exodus i had with pain.

April 28, 2012. Now i’m feeling far better. Occasionally i would have back pain but that is mainly because i overslept. 

 

4 Responses to “Exodus with Back Pain”

    • WOW!!! thank you so much Sweetopiagirl for re-blogging this in your site.. for the first time i had someone from somewhere do this for me. i’m quite new in blogging and just started exploring (tags, links etc) and surely it will be a long way for me….thank you for such act, i really appreciate it! More power to you as well as you continue to blog helpful tips for us people who are into-loosing-weight.

  1. […] Exodus with Back Pain (tokikots.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

